Graduate Faculty

The Applied Economics Graduate Faculty includes faculty members from several University of Minnesota Departments.  These include Applied Economics, Health Policy and Management, Humphrey School of Public Affairs, Department of Work and Organizations, and Animal Science.

Name/ Email Title/Affiliation Areas of Study

Jean Abraham
abrah042@umn.edu

Associate Professor, Health Policy & Management, School of Public Health

  • Health Economics

Jeffrey Apland
japland@umn.edu

Professor, Department of Applied Economics 

  • Production and Marketing Economics

Ragui Assaad
assaad@umn.edu

Professor, Humphrey School of Public Affairs

  • Trade and Development Economics
  • Policy Analysis

Ben-Ner Avner
benne001@umn.edu

Professor, Department of Work and Organizations, Carlson School of Management

  • Labor and Population Economics

Marc Bellemare
mbellema@umn.edu

Associate Professor, Department of Applied Economics 

  •  Trade and Development Economics

Alan Benson
bensona@umn.edu

Assistant Professor, Department of Work and Organizations, Carlson School of Management

  • Labor and Population Economics

Michael Boland
boland@umn.edu

Professor, Department of Applied Economics - Director of the Food Industry Center

  •  Production and Marketing Economics

Marin Bozic
mbozic@umn.edu

Assistant Professor, Department of Applied Economics 

  • Production and Marketing Economics
  • Policy Analysis

John Budd
jbudd@umn.edu

Chair, Department of Work and Organizations, Carlson School of Management - Director, Center for Human Resources and Labor Studies - Industrial Relations Land Grant Chair

  • Labor and Population Economics

Brian Buhr
bbuhr@umn.edu

Dean, College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resources Sciences, Professor, Department of Applied Economics

  • Production and Marketing Economics

Metin Cakir
mcakir@umn.edu

Assistant Professor, Department of Applied Economics 

  • Consumer Behavior and Household Economics

Caroline Carlin
ccarlin@umn.edu

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Department of Applied Economics - Research Investigator, Medica Research Institute

  • Health Economics

Jon Christianson
chris001@umn.edu

Professor, Health Policy & Management, School of Public Health 

  • Health Economics

Jay Coggins
jcoggins@umn.edu

Professor, Department of Applied Economics 

  • Resource and Environmental Economics

Elizabeth Davis
edavis@umn.edu

Professor, Department of Applied Economics

  • Consumer Behavior and Household Economics
  • Labor and Population Economics

Bryan Dowd
dowdx001@umn.edu

Professor, Health Policy & Management, School of Public Health 

  • Health Economics

Roger Feldman
feldm002@umn.edu

Professor, Health Policy & Management, School of Public Health 

  • Health Economics

William Gartner
wcg@umn.edu

Professor, Department of Applied Economics

  • Development and Trade Economics
  • Resource and Environmental Economics

Paul Glewwe
pglewwe@umn.edu

Professor, Distinguished McKnight University Professor, Department of Applied Economics

  • Trade and Development Economics
  • Consumer Behavior and Household Economics
  • Labor and Population Economics

Ezra Golberstein
egolber@umn.edu

Associate Professor, Health Policy & Management, School of Public Health 

  • Health Economics

Maria Hanratty
hanra003@umn.edu

Associate Professor, Humphrey School of Public Affairs 

  • Policy Anaylsis
  • Labor and Population Economics

Frances Homans
fhomans@umn.edu

Professor and Department Head, Department of Applied Economics 

  • Resource and Environmental Economics

Terrance Hurley 
tmh@umn.edu

Professor, Department of Applied Economics

  • Consumer Behavior and Household Economics
  • Labor and Population Economics
  • Production and Marketing Economics
  • Resource and Environmental Economics

Janna Johnson
jannaj@umn.edu

Assistant Professor, Humphrey School of Public Affairs 

  • Labor and Population Economics
  • Policy Analysis

Laura Kalambokidis
kalam002@umn.edu

Professor, Department of Applied Economics, Minnesota State Economist

  • Policy Analysis

Pinar Karaca-Mandic
pkmandic@umn.edu

Associate Professor, Health Policy & Management, School of Public Health 

  • Health Economics

Jason Kerwin
jkerwin@umn.edu

Assistant Professor, Department of Applied Economics

  • Trade and Development Economics
  • Labor and Population Economics

Robert King
rking@umn.edu

Professor, Department of Applied Economics

  • Production and Marketing Economics

Morris Kleiner
klein002@umn.edu

Professor, Humphrey School of Public Affairs and AFL-CIO Chair

  • Labor and Population Economics
  • Policy Analysis

Robert Kudrle
kudrl001@umn.edu

Orville and Jane Freeman Chair in International Trade and Investment Policy, Humphrey School of Public Affairs

  • Trade and Development Economics
  • Policy Analysis

William Lazarus
wlazarus@umn.edu

Professor and Extension Economics, Department of Applied Economics 

  • Production and Marketing Economics

Deborah Levison
levis001@umn.edu

Professor, Humphrey School of Public Affairs 

  • Trade and Development Economics
  • Labor and Population Economics
  • Policy Analysis

Donald Liu
dliu@umn.edu

Professor, Department of Applied Economics, Executive Director of Minnesota Council on Economic Education

  • Production and Marketing Economics

Colleen Manchester
cmanch@umn.edu

Associate Professor, Department of Work and Organizations, Carlson School of Management 

  • Labor and Population Economics

Gerard McCullough
gmccullo@umn.edu

Associate Professor, Department of Applied Economics

  • Production and Marketing Economics

Steve Miller
s-miller@umn.edu

Assistant Professor, Department of Applied Economics

  • Resource and Environmental Economics
  • Policy Analysis 

Kota Minegishi
kota@umn.edu

Assistant Professor, Department of Animal Science

  • Production and Marketing Economics
  • Policy Analysis
Hamid Mohtadi
mohta001@umn.edu

Adjunct Professor, Department of Applied Economics and Professor of Economics, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

  • Development and Trade Economics

Samuel Myers
myers006@umn.edu

Roy Wilkins Professor of Human Relations and Social Justice, Humphrey School of Public Affairs 

  • Policy Analysis

Elton Mykerezi
myker001@umn.edu

Associate Professor, Department of Applied Economics

John Nyman
nyman001@umn.edu

Professor, Health Policy & Management, School of Public Health 

  • Health Economics

Tade Okediji
tokediji@umn.edu

Associate Professor, Department of Applied Economics

Kent Olson
kdolson@umn.edu

Professor, Department of Applied Economics, Associate Dean

  • Production and Marketing Economics

Philip Pardey
ppardey@umn.edu

Professor and Director, International Science and Technology Practice and Policy (InSTePP) Center, Department of Applied Economics

  • Development and Trade Economics

Hikaru Peterson
hhp@umn.edu

Professor, Department of Applied Economics 

  • Consumer Behavior and Household Economics

Jeffrey Peterson
jmpeter@umn.edu

Professor, Department of Applied Economics - Director, Water Resources Center

  • Policy Analysis
  • Resource and Environmental Economics

Stephen Polasky
polasky@umn.edu

Regents Professor and Fesler-Lampert Professor of Ecological/Environmental Economics, Department of Applied Economics

  • Resource and Environmental Economics

Joe Ritter
jritter@umn.edu

Director of Graduate Studies and Associate Professor, Department of Applied Economics

  • Labor and Population Economics
  • Policy Analysis

C. Ford Runge
frunge@umn.edu 

Distinguished McKnight University Professor of Applied Economics and Law

  • Development and Trade Economics
  • Resource and Environmental Economics

Pamela Smith
psmith@umn.edu

Associate Professor, Department of Applied Economics

  • Trade and Development Economics

Rodney Smith
smith142@umn.edu

Professor, Department of Applied Economics

  • Production and Marketing Economics
  • Resource and Environmental Economics

Aaron Sojourner
asojourn@umn.edu

Assistant Professor, Department of Work and Organizations, Carlson School of Management

  •  Labor and Population Economics

Judy Temple
jtemple@umn.edu

Professor, Humphrey School of Public Affairs

  •  Policy Analysis

Chengyan Yue
yuechy@umn.edu

Associate Professor, Department of Applied Economics

  • Consumer Behavior and Household Economics
  • Trade and Development Economics
  • Production and Marketing Economics