2008 - 2009

University of Minnesota

Alumni Association

Award for Outstanding Contributions to Postbaccalaureate, Graduate and Professional Education
Terry Roe

Institute on the Environment

Resident Fellows
Jason Hill and Stephen Polasky

Office of the President

Presidential Leadership and Service Award
Jason Oldenkamp

Department of Applied Economics

Outstanding Alumni Award
Harry Kaiser

PhD Dissertation Award
Suzanne Wisniewski - "Health and Economic Development: A Macroeconomic and Microeconomic Perspective"

M.S. Thesis Award
Tianyu Zou - "Using Real Options to Evaluate Investment Decisions in Ethanol Facilities"

College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences

Little Red Oil Can Award
Sue Pohlod

Agricultural and Applied Economics Association

AAEA Fellow
Ben Senauer

Outstanding Review: of Agricultural Economics Article for "An Empirical Analysis of and Policy Recommendations to Improve the Nutritional Quality of School Meals"
Ben Senauer, Ford Runge and Barbara Wagner

Graduate Student Extension Competition for "What We Know About Minnesota's Job Opportunity Building Zones (JOBZ) Program?"
Tonya Hansen

American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Elected Member
Stephen Polasky

Japan Foundation Center for Global Partnerships
Abe Fellow and Rodney Smith

Midwest Dairy Association

Princess Kay of the Milky Way
Kristy Mussman

National Association of Community Development Extension Professionals

2008 Individual Award for Excellence in Community Development Programming
Laura Kalambokidis

National Association of Economic Educators & National Council on Economic Education

International Award for Outstanding and Dedicated Service and Leadership
Claudia Parliament

National Council on Teacher Quality

First Place in The Impact of Teacher Rules, Roles and Rights on Teacher Quality (TR3) Research Competition for "Effects of Teachers' Unions on Qualification-Specific and Incentive Based Teacher Compensation."
Kristine Lamm West and Elton Mykerezi